Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

#1960Now: Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests (Social Justice Book, Civil Rights Photography Book)

Availability:
Only 2 left!
Save 13% Save 13%
Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00 - Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00
Current price $25.99
$25.99 - $25.99
Current price $25.99
The fight for equality continues, from 1960 to now. Combining portraits of past and present social justice activists with documentary images from recent protests throughout the United States, #1960Now sheds light on the parallels between the 1960s Civil Rights Movement and the Black Lives Matter movement of today. Shelia Pree Bright's striking black-and-white photographs capture the courage and conviction of '60s elder statesmen and a new generation of activists, offering a powerful reminder that the fight for justice is far from over. #1960Now represents an important new contribution to American protest photography.

• Puts the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960's in direct conversation with Black Lives Matter
• Introduction from Black Lives Matter co-founder Alicia Garza
• Builds on the appeal of #1960Now and @sheepreebright on Instagram

Fans of Training School for Negro Girls, Martha Rosler: Irrespective, and Charles White: A Retrospective will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Politically engaged folks of all ages
• Fine art photography buffs
• Black Lives Matter and Civil Rights era activists
• Community organizers

ISBN-13: 9781452170725

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

Publication Date: 10-23-2018

Pages: 160

Product Dimensions: 8.25(w) x 10.37(h) x 0.87(d)

Sheila Pree Bright is an award-winning fine art photographer based in Atlanta, Georgia. Alicia Garza is an organizer, writer, and the cocreator of #BlackLivesMatter, an international movement and organizing project focused on combatting anti-Black state-sanctioned violence. She lives and works in Oakland, California.