Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Original price $17.99 - Original price $17.99
Original price $17.99
$17.99
$17.99 - $17.99
Current price $17.99

Joya Goffney, author of the acclaimed Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry, delivers a powerful second novel about a preacher's daughter in small-town Texas and her journey toward loving herself and her body, filled with heart, humor, family drama, and a dynamic love triangle. Perfect for fans of Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles and Calling My Name by Liara Tamani!

"Powerful, boundary pushing, and charmingly funny." --Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure and Off the Record

"Deeply empowering, sweet yet candid. A fearless story about the path to self acceptance." --Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, authors of Unpregnant and Save Steve

"A heartfelt, funny, and irresistible read...smart, sex-positive, and positively terrific." --Kirkus (starred review)

"A compassionate novel that encourages teens to prioritize the control, safety, and comfort of their own bodies." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Monique is a preacher's daughter who detests the impossible rules of her religion. Everyone expects her to wait until marriage, so she has no one to turn to when she discovers that she physically can't have sex.

After two years of trying and failing, her boyfriend breaks up with her. To win him back, Monique teams up with straight-laced church girl Sasha--who is surprisingly knowledgeable about Monique's condition--as well as Reggie, the misunderstood bad boy who always makes a ruckus at church, and together they embark upon a top-secret search for the cure.

While on their quest, Monique discovers the value of a true friend and the wonders of a love that accepts her for who she is. Despite everyone's opinions about her virtue, she learns to live for herself, inspiring us all to reclaim our bodies and unapologetically love ourselves.

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults 2022 List Nominee

"A triumph in not just dynamite contemporary fiction but also in critiquing purity culture and the harm it can do." --Buzzfeed

"[Monique's] journey toward recognizing her own value is hard-won, and her awareness of her own worth, when it comes, feels like a true victory. An empowering read." --Booklist


ISBN-13: 9780063024847

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Harperteen

Publication Date: 05-03-2022

Pages: 368

Product Dimensions: 8.59h x 5.81w x 1.25d

Age Range: 13 - UP Years

Goffney, Joya: -

Joya Goffney grew up in New Waverly, a small town in East Texas. In high school, she challenged herself with to-do lists full of risk-taking items like "hug a random boy" and "eat a cricket," which inspired her debut novel, Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry. With a passion for Black social psychology, she moved out of the countryside to attend the University of Texas in Austin, where she still resides.