Skip to content


in stock, ready to be shipped
Original price $34.99 - Original price $34.99
Original price $34.99
$41.99 - $41.99
Current price $41.99

DRACONIS is the second independent novel from Ryan Night, author of the gritty superhero novel, Gods of the American Wild.

Draconis is an episodic squad based sci-fi adventure like Cowboy Bebop or Firefly. Like a TV mini-series, it's structured as 6 distinct episodes that come together to form one big 500 page sci-fi epic. This Premium Hardcover Edition features full color chapter art for every chapter.

Draconis's TV series-like episodes come together to form one cohesive space opera billed as "Cowboy Bebop meets Apocalypse Now," with heavy influences from movies, TV, video games and anime. What begins as a grounded sci-fi military adventure expands to become increasingly unmoored from reality as the crew ventures further into unexplored space. They face military threats, lovecraftian horrors, godlike AIs and much more.

Draconis is about a black ops military crew led by Adam Ikari-Wright, a legendary special forces operative, who journey to the edge of the universe in pursuit of their target: the powerful intergalactic cult leader, River Crowley.

Set 600 years in the future, in a universe where the Earth Defense Federation, Andromedan Technocracy and Centauri Trade Authority are competing over territory, an existentialist cult named Lea Monde emerges with power to rival the three major factions. Its leader, River Crowley, is cutthroat, but also heralded as a hero on the colonized planets and other pockets of the galaxy.

Adam is sent on a mission to terminate River Crowley's command. He's joined by the genetically modified twins, Aztec and Tezca Rai. The hotshot rookie, Raziel Graves. The renowned hacker Jackie Visken, aka Vice. And an enigmatic scholar, Dr. Grant Fourier-Lee.

Each of the six episodes included in Draconis are distinct and can be read as individual novellas. Episodes are 60-120 pages.

Episode 1: Djevica 9

Adam infiltrates River Crowley's compound on Djevica 9 only to discover what was described to him as a simple cult is actually a thriving academy.

Episode 2: Aesir Colony

The squad answers a distress call from Aesir Colony in the Andromeda Galaxy, but it looks like they may have bitten off more than they can chew.

Episode 3: The Triangulum

The Triangulum Galaxy is considered the Bermuda Triangle of space but the crew decides to take a shortcut and finds cosmic horrors beyond comprehension.

Episode 4: F.A.T.E.

The crew discovers an enormous A.I. in deep space that seems to be torturing a digital consciousness. They intervene and attempt to save the two robots Apollo and Sonmi.

Episode 5: Shangri-La

Far in deep space the crew finds a perfect planet inhabited by party-goers gathered from across the universe. They meet a familiar face.

Episode 6: Draconis

The crew finally reaches their destination: the mysterious planet Draconis. There they encounter Crowley and uncover the secrets of Draconis and its ancient civilization.

Episode descriptions and character summaries can be found on, a companion site for the novel. The site also features each character's playlist and playlists inspired by each episode.

Note from the Author:

Draconis is my attempt to make a cool, intelligent and thought provoking franchise sci-fi series, like Star Wars or The Matrix. I wanted to make something that starts off grounded and gets completely reality-busting by the end, like Evangelion. I worked especially hard on the production quality. I hope people enjoy it.

ISBN-13: 9780999857588

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Bright Rock Media LLC

Publication Date: 12-06-2023

Pages: 420

Product Dimensions: 9.00h x 6.00w x 0.94d