Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Original price $16.95 - Original price $16.95
Original price $16.95
$16.99
$16.99 - $16.99
Current price $16.99

When daddy pushed me and girlhood innocence out my bedroom window

I picked up the shattered pieces of myself and became a woman

Imagine Being More Afraid of Freedom Than Slavery is lyrical and provocative, humorous and potent as it tackles both personal and contemporary issues of enslavement, sexuality, psychological trauma, and physical abuse. From beginning to end some of these poems chart the journey that is life and one woman's cycle of dependency as she recovers her lost identity. Thematically, it is bound by a writer's search for love and fight for freedom, drawing on the spirit and will of Harriet Tubman, the image of the bloated body of Emmett Till, the bombing of Philadelphia Move, and lesbian love. In the tradition of June Jordan and Sapphire, Pamela Sneed presents an in-your-face, powerful, and stirring debut.

ISBN-13: 9781531504847

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: New York Relit

Publication Date: 09-05-2023

Pages: 80

Product Dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.00(d)

Pamela Sneed is a NYC-based poet, performer, and visual artist. Here other books include KONG and Other Works, Sweet Dreams, and Funeral Diva which won the 2021 Lambda Lesbian Poetry Award. Additionally in 2021, She was a finalist for New York Theater Workshop’s Golden Harris Award and received a monetary award. In 2021, she was a panelist for The David Zwirner Gallery’s More Life exhibit, and has spoken at Bard Center for Humanities, The Ford Foundation, The Gordon Parks Foundation, Columbia University, The New School, New York Public Library, The Brooklyn Museum, MoMA, DIA, NYU’s Center for Humanities. She has published in The Paris Review, Frieze, Art Forum and elsewhere. Her visual work has been featured in the group show Omniscient at Leslie Lohman Gallery and at the Ford Foundation. She is an online professor in the School of the Art Institute of Chicago’s low-res program and teaches poetry and art across disciplines in Columbia University’s MFA in Visual Arts program.