Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $45+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $45+

Just Like Me

Availability:
Out of stock
Sold out
Original price $17.99
Original price $17.99 - Original price $17.99
Original price $17.99
Current price $15.99
$15.99 - $15.99
Current price $15.99

An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.

I am a canvas
Being painted on
By the words of my family
Friends
And community

From Vanessa Brantley-Newton, the author of Grandma's Purse, comes a collection of poetry filled with engaging mini-stories about girls of all kinds: girls who feel happy, sad, scared, powerful; girls who love their bodies and girls who don't; country girls, city girls; girls who love their mother and girls who wish they had a father. With bright portraits in Vanessa's signature style of vibrant colors and unique patterns and fabrics, this book invites readers to find themselves and each other within its pages.

"A dynamic, uplifting, and welcoming world of girls."—Kirkus

"Thoughtful, inclusive, and celebratory"—Publishers Weekly

"Bursting with positivity, this would be a great book to use in primary school classrooms when discussing issues of friendship, diversity, and self-esteem."—Booklist

ISBN-13: 9780525582090

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Publication Date: 01-14-2020

Pages: 32

Product Dimensions: 8.90(w) x 11.20(h) x 0.40(d)

Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

Vanessa Brantley-Newton is a self-taught illustrator, doll maker, and crafter who studied fashion illustration at FIT and children's book illustration at the School of Visual Arts in New York. She is the author and illustrator of Grandma's Purse and has illustrated numerous children's books, including Sewing Stories by Barbara Herkert. Vanessa currently makes her nest in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband, daughter, and a very rambunctious cat named Stripes. Learn more about Vanessa and her artwork at VanessaBrantleyNewton.com and on Facebook.