Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

My Hair Is Like the Sun

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Original price $8.99 - Original price $8.99
Original price $8.99
$11.99
$11.99 - $11.99
Current price $11.99
From the creator of My Beautiful Black Hair, this joyful board book celebrates the natural beauty of Black hair in all its shapes, styles, and textures!

My hair is like the sun . . . the stars . . . the ocean! From curls that wind like rivers to coils that shimmer like stars, this book featuring photographs of real children and their natural hairstyles encourages little ones to see themselves reflected in the wonders of nature. Tenderly written and stunningly photographed by St. Clair Detrick-Jules, and with vibrant illustrations by Tabitha Brown, this timeless book shares a sweet and powerful message of self-love.

CELEBRATE BLACK JOY: These sweet rhymes and simple metaphors empower young children of color and serve as beautiful morning affirmations or a bedtime lullaby to build confidence and self-esteem.

FUN AND PHOTOGRAPHIC: Babies love looking at other babies! By presenting photographs of real kids with real hair textures and shapes, this book offers children of color a powerful sense of recognition and affirmation.

DIVERSITY AT HOME AND SCHOOL: With beautiful photographs and joyous, flowing text, this book will be a welcome addition to any nursery bookshelf, preschool classroom, or library.

Perfect for:
  • Parents and grandparents seeking positive children's self-esteem books
  • Fans of Hair Love and Black Girl Magic
  • Baby shower and birthday gift givers
  • Preschool teachers and librarians
  • Anyone looking for empowering board books by Black creators

ISBN-13: 9781797221793

Media Type: Board Book

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Publication Date: 09-12-2023

Pages: 20

Age Range: 0 - 3 Years

St. Clair Detrick-Jules is an award-winning filmmaker, photographer, author, activist, and speaker. She has been featured in the Washington Post, Washingtonian magazine, BuzzFeed News, the Christian Science Monitor, NPR's Strange Fruit, and elsewhere. She is the author of My Beautiful Black Hair, which showcases photographs and stories of Black women embracing their crowns. Detrick-Jules currently resides in her hometown of Washington, D.C.

Tabitha Brown is an illustrator who blends drawings, found textures, and vintage papers to create unique digital collage pieces. She received a BFA in illustration from the American Academy of Art, in Chicago, and her work has been featured by the Huffington Post, Design Milk, Decor8, Modish, and Afrolicious. Brown is based in Illinois.