Skip to content

Stokely: A Life

in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 5% Save 5%
Original price $19.99
Original price $19.99 - Original price $19.99
Original price $19.99
Current price $18.99
$18.99 - $18.99
Current price $18.99
From the author of The Sword and the Shield, this definitive biography of the Black Power activist Stokely Carmichael offers "an unflinching look at an unflinching man" (Daily Beast).

Stokely Carmichael, the charismatic and controversial Black activist, stepped onto the pages of history when he called for "Black Power" during a speech one Mississippi night in 1966. A firebrand who straddled both the American civil rights and Black Power movements, Carmichael would stand for the rest of his life at the center of the storm he had unleashed. In Stokely, preeminent civil rights scholar Peniel E. Joseph presents a groundbreaking biography of Carmichael, using his life as a prism through which to view the transformative African American freedom struggles of the twentieth century.

A nuanced and authoritative portrait, Stokely captures the life of the man whose uncompromising vision defined political radicalism and provoked a national reckoning on race and democracy.

ISBN-13: 9780465065585

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: Basic Books

Publication Date: 02-09-2016

Pages: 432

Product Dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Peniel E. Joseph is the Barbara Jordan Chair in Ethics and Political Values, Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Race and Democracy, and Associate Dean for Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion at the LBJ School of Public Affairs and Professor of History at the University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of award-winning books on African American history, including The Sword and the Shield and The Third Reconstruction. He lives in Austin, Texas.

Table of Contents

Preface ix

Prologue 1

Chapter 1 The Chocolate Fred Astaire June 29, 1941-February 1960 5

Chapter 2 Howard and NAG February 1960-June 1961 19

Chapter 3 Finding a Way in New Worlds June 29, 1961-January 1962 35

Chapter 4 "The Movement Was My Fate" January 1962-August 1963 45

Chapter 5 The Local Organizer September 1963-August 1964 63

Chapter 6 A Struggle for Democracy August 1964-March 1965 75

Chapter 7 Lowndes County: New Directions April 1965-May 1966 87

Chapter 8 The Meredith March May 8-June 29, 1966 101

Chapter 9 The Magnificent Barbarian July-September 1966 125

Chapter 10 "A New Society Must Be Born" September-December 1966 149

Chapter 11 "Hell No, We Won't Go!" January-July 10, 1967 173

Chapter 12 The World Stage: London, Cuba, and Vietnam July 13-September 5, 1967 197

Chapter 13 The World Stage: Africa September 6-December 11, 1967 213

Chapter 14 Black Panther December 11, 1967-April 3, 1968 231

Chapter 15 The Prime Minister of Afro-America April 4-December 28, 1968 253

Chapter 16 "The Revolution Is Not About Dying. It's About Living" December 28, 1968-November 15, 1998 277

Epilogue: From Stokely Carmichael to Kwame Ture 319

Acknowledgments 329

Notes 333

Sources and Bibliography 367

Index 385