Skip to content

The Bears Ears: A Human History of America's Most Endangered Wilderness

in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 11% Save 11%
Original price $27.95
Original price $27.95 - Original price $27.95
Original price $27.95
Current price $24.99
$24.99 - $24.99
Current price $24.99

One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best Travel Books of 2021

A personal and historical exploration of the Bears Ears country and the fight to save a national monument.

The Bears Ears National Monument in southeastern Utah, created by President Obama in 2016 and eviscerated by the Trump administration in 2017, contains more archaeological sites than any other region in the United States. It’s also a spectacularly beautiful landscape, a mosaic of sandstone canyons and bold mesas and buttes. This wilderness, now threatened by oil and gas drilling, unrestricted grazing, and invasion by Jeep and ATV, is at the center of the greatest environmental battle in America since the damming of the Colorado River to create Lake Powell in the 1950s.

In The Bears Ears, acclaimed adventure writer David Roberts takes readers on a tour of his favorite place on earth as he unfolds the rich and contradictory human history of the 1.35 million acres of the Bears Ears domain. Weaving personal memoir with archival research, Roberts sings the praises of the outback he’s explored for the last twenty-five years.

ISBN-13: 9781324004813

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Norton W. W. & Company Inc.

Publication Date: 02-23-2021

Pages: 336

Product Dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

David Roberts (1943–2021) is the author of thirty books on mountaineering, exploration, and anthropology. His books have won the Boardman Tasker Award for Mountain Literature and the Grand Prize at the Banff Mountain Book Competition.

Table of Contents

1 The Place and the Promise 1

2 In Search of a Lost Race 12

3 Manuelito's Dirge 36

4 Shumway's Shovel 84

5 O Pioneers! 132

6 Cowboys and Characters 162

7 Posey's Trail 187

8 Countdown to Showdown 222

Epilogue: The Bears Ears I'll Never Know 243

Acknowledgments 279

Notes 283

Bibliography 301

Index 309