Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

The In-Betweens: A Lyrical Memoir

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 5% Save 5%
Original price $21.99
Original price $21.99 - Original price $21.99
Original price $21.99
Current price $20.99
$20.99 - $20.99
Current price $20.99

"Utterly captivating and resonant." --Chicago Review of Books
"Gorgeously told." --Philadelphia Inquirer

"Resonant. . . . Engagingly delivered, candid reflections on heritage and identity." --Kirkus Reviews

The In-Betweens tells the story of a biracial boy becoming a man, all the while trying to find himself, trying to come to terms with his white family, and trying to find his place in American society. A rich narrative in the tradition of Justin Torres's We the Animals and Bryan Washington's Memorial, Davon Loeb's memoir is relevant to the country's current climate and is part of the necessary rewrite of the nation's narrative and identity.

The son of a Black mother with deep family roots in Alabama and a white Jewish man from Long Island, Loeb grows up in a Black family in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey as one of the few nonwhite children in their suburban neighborhood. Despite his many and ongoing efforts to fit in, Loeb acutely feels his difference--he is singled out in class during Black History Month; his hair doesn't conform to the latest fad; coaches and peers assume he is a talented athlete and dancer; and on the field trip to the Holocaust Museum, he is the Black Jew. But all is not struggle. In lyrical vignettes, Loeb vibrantly depicts the freedom, joys, and wonder of childhood; the awkwardness of teen years, first jobs, first passions. Loeb tells an individual story universally, and readers, regardless of subjectivity and relation, will see themselves throughout The In-Betweens.


ISBN-13: 9781952271748

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: West Virginia University Press

Publication Date: 02-01-2023

Pages: 280

Product Dimensions: 7.95h x 5.12w x 0.79d

Davon Loeb is an assistant features editor at The Rumpus. He earned an MFA in creative writing from Rutgers University-Camden and has had work published in Catapult, Ploughshares, Joyland, PANK, and elsewhere. He lives in New Jersey. Learn more at davonloeb.com.