Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

The Red Book of Farewells

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 8% Save 8%
Original price $24.95
Original price $24.95 - Original price $24.95
Original price $24.95
Current price $22.99
$22.99 - $22.99
Current price $22.99

For fans of Tove Ditlevsen and Karl Ove Knausgaard, an enigmatic work of autofiction set in a time of leftist politics and criminalized sexuality.

Pirkko Saisio's autofictional novel, in Mia Spangenberg's tender translation, is a mesmerizing account of radical politics and sexual awakening in a series of farewells--to her mother, to the idealism of youth, to friends and lovers, and finally to her grown daughter. The novel embeds readers in a delirious Finland, where art and communist politics are hopelessly intertwined, and where queer love, still a crime, thrives in underground bars. But then one morning in 2002, on a remote island off the coast of Finland, the narrator Pirkko Saisio informs her publisher that she's accidentally deleted her latest manuscript, The Red Book of Farewells. Playful and mysterious, The Red Book of Farewells is a work that stoically embraces the small revolutions of moving on.


ISBN-13: 9781949641462

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Two Lines Press

Publication Date: 04-25-2023

Pages: 312

Product Dimensions: 8.10h x 5.00w x 1.00d