Skip to content

The She Said Dialogues: Flesh Memory

Out of stock
Sold out
Original price $16.95 - Original price $16.95
Original price $16.95
$16.99 - $16.99
Current price $16.99
In her original author's note to the 1999 edition, Akilah Oliver writes,"What I am trying to do in these poems is investigate the non-linear synapses between desire, memory, blackness (as both a personal identity and a non-essentialist historical notion), sexuality and language." the she said dialogues: flesh memory proves to be not only still timely twenty years later, but essential reading for understanding intersectional politics and poetics in our current moment.

ISBN-13: 9781643620343

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: Nightboat Books

Publication Date: 01-05-2021

Pages: 112

Product Dimensions: 8.90h x 5.90w x 0.40d

Akilah Oliver was born in St. Louis and grew up in Los Angeles. She was the author of two books of poetry: A Toast in the House of Friends (2009) and the she said dialogues: flesh memory (1999), which received a PEN Beyond Margins award. Her chapbooks include A Collection of Objects (2010), a(A)ugust (2007), The Putterer's Notebook (2006), and An Arriving Guard of Angels, Thusly Coming to Greet (2004). Oliver collaborated with a range of artists and musicians, such Tyler Burba, Anne Waldman, and Rasul Siddik; a notable performer, Oliver founded the feminist performance collective Sacred Naked Nature Girls in the 1990s. She was a member of the Belladonna* collaborative and a PhD candidate at the European Graduate School. Oliver lived for many years in Boulder, Colorado, where she taught at the Naropa Institute's Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics. At the time of her death, she was a professor in the Humanities and Media Studies Department at the Pratt Institute in New York City. A memorial reading in honor of Oliver's contributions to numerous poetry communities was held at the Poetry Project in June 2011. Akilah was the mother of Oluchi McDonald who predeceased her on March 13, 2003.