Skip to content
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL DOMESTIC ORDERS $35+
FREE SHIPPING ON ALL US ORDERS $35+

Them

Availability:
in stock, ready to be shipped
Original price $22.99 - Original price $22.99
Original price $22.99
$22.99
$22.99 - $22.99
Current price $22.99
From the "mesmerizing storyteller" (The New Yorker) and author of the bestselling memoir Makes Me Wanna Holler presents a profound novel--in the tradition of Tom Wolfe's The Bonfire of the Vanities and Zadie Smith's White Teeth--that captures the dynamics of class and race in today's urban integrated communities.

Barlowe Reed is a single, forty-something Black American who rents a ramshackle house on Randolph Street in Atlanta, just a stone's throw from the historic birth home of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Barlowe, who works as a printer, otherwise passes the time reading and hanging out with other men at the corner store. He shares his home and loner existence with a streetwise, twentysomething nephew who is struggling to get his troubled life back on track.

When Sean and Sandy Gilmore, a young white couple, move in next door, Barlowe and Sandy develop a reluctant, complex friendship as they hold probing--often frustrating--conversations over the backyard fence.

Members of both households, and their neighbors as well, try to go about their business, tending to their homes and jobs. However, fear and suspicion build--and clashes ensue--with each passing day, as more and more new whites move in and make changes and once familiar people and places disappear.

Using a blend of superbly developed characters in a story that captures the essence of this country's struggles with the unsettling realities of gentrification, Nathan McCall has produced a truly great American novel.

ISBN-13: 9781416549161

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: Washington Square Press

Publication Date: 08-01-2008

Pages: 368

Product Dimensions: 8.25h x 5.33w x 0.95d

Nathan McCall, author of Makes Me Wanna Holler, has worked as a journalist for The Washington Post. Currently, he teaches in the African American Studies Department at Emory University and lives in Atlanta, Georgia.