Skip to content

1963 (Exploring Civil Rights: The Movement)

Only 3 left!
Save 3% Save 3%
Original price $32.00
Original price $32.00 - Original price $32.00
Original price $32.00
Current price $30.99
$30.99 - $30.99
Current price $30.99
Key events of the Civil Rights Movement will be brought to life in this exciting and informative new series.

The year 1963 brought both violence and a speech that resonates today. In June, two Black students were blocked from registering for classes at the University of Alabama. Civil rights leaders responded with a historic protest. In August, 250,000 people gathered for the March on Washington as Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. delivered his "I Have a Dream" speech. The following month, a bomb planted by the Ku Klux Klan killed four girls at a church in Alabama. The extent of racism and discrimination was finally laid bare, as public sentiment for the movement swelled and change now seemed inevitable.


The years from 1955 to 1965 are at the heart of the civil rights movement--from the Montgomery bus boycott to the Voting Rights Act. The contributions of key activists, including Rosa Parks, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., John Lewis, Barbara Nash, and Malcolm X, are part of the narrative. Demonstrations of passive resistance and legal challenges were often met with bloodshed and violence against Black Americans fighting to end segregation and discrimination. Yet the courage of those yearning for equal opportunities under the law ultimately produced legislation affirming that every American should have the same constitutional rights, regardless of color, race, or gender.

With stunning photographs throughout and rich back matter, each book focuses on a specific year and chronologically follows the detailed events that occurred and the changes that took place.

ISBN-13: 9781338769807

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: C. Press/F. Watts Trade

Publication Date: 01-04-2022

Pages: 96

Product Dimensions: 9.10h x 6.20w x 0.40d

Age Range: 10 - 13 Years

Series: Exploring Civil Rights

Angela Shanté is the award-winning author of The Noisy Classroom, a picture book about her time as a classroom teacher. She grew up in New York City where she first fell in love with words and teaching. Angela received a Master's in Elementary Education with a focus on literacy and later went back to school to receive an MFA in Creative Writing. With one leg in education and the other in the creative world, Angela marries her two passions by creating creative content for young readers across all mediums. Angela currently lives in Southern California with her husband and dog (Blue).