Skip to content

A Song for You: My Life with Whitney Houston

in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 0% Save 0%
Original price $17.00
Original price $17.00 - Original price $17.00
Original price $17.00
Current price $16.99
$16.99 - $16.99
Current price $16.99
The New York Times Bestseller!

After decades of silence, Robyn Crawford, close friend, collaborator, and confidante of Whitney Houston, shares her story.

Whitney Houston is as big a superstar as the music business has ever known. She exploded on the scene in 1985 with her debut album and spent the next two decades dominating the charts and capturing the hearts of fans around the world. One person was there by her side through it all—her best friend, Robyn Crawford.

Since Whitney’s death in 2012, Robyn has stayed out of the limelight and held the great joys, wild adventures, and hard truths of her life with Whitney close to her heart. Now, for the first time ever, Crawford opens up in her memoir, A Song for You.

With warmth, candor, and an impressive recall of detail, Robyn describes the two meeting as teenagers in the 1980s, and how their lives and friendship evolved as Whitney recorded her first album and Robyn pursued her promising Division I basketball career. Together during countless sold-out world tours, behind the scenes as hit after hit was recorded, through Whitney’s marriage and the birth of her daughter, the two navigated often challenging families, great loves, and painful losses, always supporting each other with laughter and friendship.

Deeply personal and heartfelt, A Song for You is the vital, honest, and previously untold story that provides an understanding of the complex life of Whitney Houston. Finally, the person who knew her best sets the record straight.

ISBN-13: 9781524742850

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Publication Date: 11-10-2020

Pages: 336

Product Dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)

After a long career in the music industry, Robyn Crawford is now focused on mental and physical wellness and writing. She lives in New Jersey with her wife and children.

Table of Contents

Introduction xi

1 The First Time I Met Whitney Elizabeth Houston 1

2 Like an Angel 19

3 Love = Love 33

4 Separation Anxiety 53

5 The Future Is Now 67

6 Nobody Loves Me Like You Do 77

7 You Give Good Love 97

8 Introducing Whitney Houston 109

9 The Greatest Drug Tour 125

10 The Moment of Truth 137

11 Tell On Your Damned Self 147

12 Moving Fast at Twice the Speed 155

13 Can I Be Me? 165

14 From Sea to Shining Sea 181

15 I Will Always Love You 191

16 The Bodyguard World Tour 205

17 Four-Letter Word 209

18 The Trouble with Angels 219

19 Exhale 225

20 SOS 241

21 My Love Is Your Love 253

22 2000 263

23 California Dreamin' 269

24 Life 281

Epilogue 311

Acknowledgments 315