Skip to content

Courage in the People's House: Nine Trailblazing Representatives Who Shaped America

in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 13% Save 13%
Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00 - Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00
Current price $25.99
$25.99 - $25.99
Current price $25.99
The remarkable stories of nine US Representatives who helped shape America.

Courage in the People's House tells the gripping stories of nine individuals who served in the US House of Representatives--the "People's House"--during a span of over one hundred years, from the 1870s to the 1990s. From the first African American to serve in the House, to immigrants elected at the dawn of the 20th century, all were trailblazers who made significant contributions to the country. The book provides an inspiring story of America through profiles of each of them, representatives of all political stripes who overcame the odds and demonstrated the courage to challenge powerful interests, and at times, their own political allies. The nine members of Congress are:

-Joseph Rainey, South Carolina
-Josiah Walls, Florida
-William B. Wilson, Pennsylvania
-Adolph Sabath, Illinois
-Oscar Stanton De Priest, Illinois
-Margaret Chase Smith, Maine
-Henry B. Gonzalez, Texas
-Shirley Chisholm, New York
-Barbara Jordan, Texas

Representative Joe Neguse, the first African American elected to the Congress from Colorado, shares how these nine ordinary Americans served nobly despite the barriers before them and did extraordinary things in service to their constituents, the Constitution, and the country.

ISBN-13: 9781982191672

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: 08-01-2023

Pages: 288

Product Dimensions: 9.25h x 6.13w x 0.75d

Congressman Joe Neguse represents Colorado's 2nd District in the US House of Representatives. A lawyer and former state-cabinet official, he was elected to his first term in November 2018. He serves as a member of the House Judiciary Committee, Natural Resources Committee, and Rules Committee, and in February 2021 served as a House impeachment manager.