Skip to content

Crazy Horse: The Lakota Warrior's Life & Legacy

Out of stock
Sold out
Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00 - Original price $30.00
Original price $30.00
Current price $25.99
$25.99 - $25.99
Current price $25.99
The Edward Clown family, nearest living relatives to the Lakota war leader, presents the family tales and memories told to them about their famous grandfather. In many ways the oral history differs from what has become the standard and widely accepted biography of Crazy Horse. The family clarifies the inaccuracies and shares their story about the past, including what it means to them to be Lakota, the family genealogy, the life of Crazy Horse and his motivations, his death, and why they chose to keep quiet with their knowledge for so long before finally deciding to tell the truth as they know it.

This book is a compelling addition to the body of works about Crazy Horse and the complicated and often conflicting events of that time period in American History.

ISBN-13: 9781423641230

Media Type: Hardcover

Publisher: Smith Gibbs Publisher

Publication Date: 09-06-2016

Pages: 256

Product Dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.00(d)

William Matson has produced and directed an award-winning video, Sitting Bull’s Voice, as well as the two-part video series, The Authorized Biography of Sitting Bull by His Great-Grandson, and the four-part video series, The Authorized Biography of Crazy Horse and His Family. He regularly speaks about these videos and their content at film festivals and has been working with the Crazy Horse family since 2001 to tell their story.

Table of Contents

Foreword 8

We Will Remain Lakota 10

Walks With Sacred Buffalo 16

Black Buffalo 21

Passing the Sacred Bundle 27

A New Life 32

The Coming of the Americans 40

War Begins in Earnest 46

The Hemblecha 49

The Name is Passed 52

Fighting for Our Hunting Grounds 60

A Family Man 67

Peace and Family Episodes 73

Painful Losses 80

Prelude to a Showdown 84

Summer Solstice 91

The Red Flower Fight 101

The Greasy Grass 105

The End of the Good Life 116

The Agency 125

His Final Days 133

Joining Those on the Other Side 139

Silence and Misdirection 146

Wounded Knee 153

Keeping Quiet 158

The Family Sacred Bundle 166

A New Crazy Horse 181

Learning the Red Road 186

Standing Up to Tell the Truth 197

Appendix 205