Skip to content

The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X

in stock, ready to be shipped
Save 4% Save 4%
Original price $21.95
Original price $21.95 - Original price $21.95
Original price $21.95
Current price $20.99
$20.99 - $20.99
Current price $20.99
An epic, award-winning biography of Malcolm X that draws on hundreds of hours of personal interviews and rewrites much of the known narrative.

Les Payne, the renowned Pulitzer Prize–winning investigative journalist, embarked in 1990 on a nearly thirty-year-long quest to create an unprecedented portrait of Malcolm X, one that would separate fact from fiction. The result is this historic, National Book Award–winning biography, which interweaves previously unknown details of Malcolm X’s life—from harrowing Depression-era vignettes to a moment-by-moment retelling of the 1965 assassination—into an extraordinary account that contextualizes Malcolm X’s life against the wider currents of American history. Bookended by essays from Tamara Payne, Payne’s daughter and primary researcher, who heroically completed the biography after her father’s death in 2018, The Dead Are Arising affirms the centrality of Malcolm X to the African American freedom struggle.

ISBN-13: 9781324091059

Media Type: Paperback

Publisher: Liveright Publishing Corporation

Publication Date: 10-19-2021

Pages: 656

Product Dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

Les Payne (1941–2018) was born in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and was a Pulitzer Prize–winning American journalist. He served as an editor and columnist at Newsday and was a founder of the National Association of Black Journalists. Tamara Payne acted as Les Payne’s principal researcher. She lives in New York.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments xiii

Introduction Tamara Payne xv

Part I 1925-1939

Chapter l Born Against the Current 3

Chapter 2 Storms of Racism 24

Chapter 3 The Anchor Is Lost 58

Chapter 4 Pulling the Family Apart 88

Part II 1939-1946

Chapter 5 East Lansing Red 113

Chapter 6 Lighting Out for His Territory 144

Chapter 7 Chased Out of Seventh Heaven 164

Chapter 8 Luck Runs Out 192

Chapter 9 Learning to Fight with Words 216

Part III 1946-1963

Chapter 10 Birth of the Nation of Islam 235

Chapter 11 Building Temples in the East 265

Chapter 12 Hartford: "The Dead There Are Rising" 284

Chapter 13 "Meet with Them Devils" 313

Chapter 14 Malcolm, the Media, and Martin Luther King 376

Part IV 1963-1965

Chapter 15 The Split 421

Chapter 16 The International Stage 436

Chapter 17 The Week Before: A Dry Run 457

Chapter 18 The Hit 468

Chapter 19 Back at the Mosque 502

Epilogue 517

Appendix: Malik Shabazz (Malcolm X): Some Questions Answered 525

Notes 539

Selected Bibliography 573

Index 583